BCCDBritish Concentration Camps
of the South African War

Personal Details
Name:Mr Mathijs Cornelius Pretorius
Other Names:Mathys Cornelius; Mattys C [DBC 105]
Born in camp? No
Age died:
Died in camp? No
Marital status:married
Registration as head of family:Yes
Unique ID:147952
Camp History
Name:Standerton RC
Age arrival:62
Date arrival:27/02/1901
Date departure:
Tent number:RT 136, Tent X/5
Name:Standerton RC
Age arrival:63
Date arrival:22/12/1900
Date departure:13/05/1902
Destination:Volksrust RC
Tent number:RT 169, C 18 & 19
Name:Volksrust RC
Age arrival:63
Date arrival:date not given
Date departure:15/10/1902
Tent number:C 118
Farm History
District:M W Stroom
District:MW Stroom / Wakkerstroom
Notes:[DBC 95]
Type:no AB, ABC
Mr Mathijs Cornelius Pretorius (Mathys Cornelius; Mattys C [DBC 105])
      is the husband of Mrs Anna Katrina Zocelia Pretorius (Anna Catherina Celia; Anna C [DBC 105])
      is the father of Miss Anna Katrina Zocelia Pretorius (Anna C [DBC 105]; Anna Catharina [DBC 107])
      is the father of Miss Ester Jacoba Aletta Pretorius (Hester Jacoba Aletta; Esther J)
      is the father of Miss Susana Maghrita Pretorius (Susanna Margaretta; Susara M [DBC 105])
      is the father of Miss Jacoba Elizabeth Pretorius (Jacoba E [DBC 105])
      is the father of Mr Stephanus Petrus Pretorius (Stefanus [DBC 105]; Stephanus Peterus [DBC 107])
      is the father of Mr Wijnand Johannes Pretorius (Wynand [DBC 102])
Title:DBC 96 Standerton CR
Notes:p.P 087
Title:DBC 95 Standerton CR
Notes:p.P 303
Title:DBC 105
Type:Volksrust Camp Register
Notes:p. P-102
Title:DBC 107 Volksrust camp register
Notes:p. P 476-7

Acknowledgments: The project was funded by the Wellcome Trust, which is not responsible for the contents of the database. The help of the following research assistants is gratefully acknowledged: Ryna Boshoff, Murray Gorman, Janie Grobler, Marelize Grobler, Luke Humby, Clare O’Reilly Jacomina Roose, Elsa Strydom, Mary van Blerk. Thanks also go to Peter Dennis for the design of the original database and to Dr Iain Smith, co-grantholder.