BCCDBritish Concentration Camps
of the South African War

Personal Details
Name:Sister MacBride
Born in camp? No
Died in camp? No
Camp occupation:hospital matron
Notes:23/10/1901: highly certificated and recommended; has 18 years as nurse and lecturer.

Nd: Sr MacBride, Grahamstown to CSRC: Wants to go home as soon as possible. 'The country is overcrowded by nurses and I feel sure I can't get suitable work. I must risk the winter months in England. I feel so uutterly miserableu and have had money losses during the last week to the ammount [sic] of over £20, which (if I did unotu get employment out here very soon) would mean I should be in serious difficulties.'
Unique ID:1820
Camp History
Name:Brandfort RC
Date departure:14/3/1902
Reason departure:transferred
Destination:Norvals Pont RC
Date appointed (as staff):23/10/1901
Notes:27/12/1901: LG Martin, SMO to SRC Brandfort: recommending that she receive £12 10/- pm as matron; she has done excellent work in the short time she has been there.
31/12/1901: CSRC in reply: she is to receive £12 pm as matron.
Title:SRC 15
Reference No.:15
Dates:Oct-Nov 1901
Notes:RC5707, 23/10/1901: CSRC to Superintendent, Brandfort and related correspondence
Title:SRC 38
Type:Correspondence: appointments
Reference No.:38
Dates:Feb-Mar 1902
Notes:A973: 14/3/1902: CSRC to SRC Norvals Pont and related correspondence
Title:SRC 39
Type:Correspondence: appointments
Reference No.:39
Dates:Mar-Apr 1902
Notes:A1006: 17/3/1902: CSRC to SRC Norvals Pont and related correspondence
Title:SRC 47
Type:Correspondence: appointments
Reference No.:47
Dates:Jan-Apr 1903
Notes:A2361: Nd: Sr MacBride, Grahamstown to CSRC
Title:SRC 35
Type:Correspondence: appointments
Reference No.:35
Dates:Dec 1901-Jan 1902
Notes:27/12/1901: LG Martin, SMO to SRC Brandfort

Acknowledgments: The project was funded by the Wellcome Trust, which is not responsible for the contents of the database. The help of the following research assistants is gratefully acknowledged: Ryna Boshoff, Murray Gorman, Janie Grobler, Marelize Grobler, Luke Humby, Clare O’Reilly Jacomina Roose, Elsa Strydom, Mary van Blerk. Thanks also go to Peter Dennis for the design of the original database and to Dr Iain Smith, co-grantholder.