BCCDBritish Concentration Camps
of the South African War

Farm Details

Farm 8 miles NW of Utrecht, S of Belelas Berg; Owner: Field Cornet, now Commandant Truter; this farm was destroyed on account of a patrol being fired on from the farm after being civilly treated by the women of the farmhouse. (When destroyed it contained no supplies; what small quantity there was were taken away by the inhabitants when removed at the time of burning.) [Source, Cd 524, p.11]

Persons on Farm
    - Click the Name for full details

  1. Miss Anna Catrina de Merwe Unique ID: 170836
  2. Mr Cornelius de Merwe Unique ID: 170831
  3. Mr Cornelius de Merwe Unique ID: 170838
  4. Miss Elsie Peternella de Merwe Unique ID: 170835
  5. Mrs Ester Maria de Merwe Unique ID: 170832
  6. Master Hendrick Johannes de Merwe Unique ID: 170837
  7. Mr Martinus de Merwe Unique ID: 170833
  8. Miss Susana Elizabeth de Merwe Unique ID: 170834
  9. Mr Christian Petrus Pieterse Unique ID: 170839
  10. Miss Christina Petronella Pieterse Unique ID: 15595
  11. Master David Jacobus Pieterse Unique ID: 171340
  12. Miss Elizabeth Pieterse Unique ID: 171345
  13. Miss Hester Johanna Pieterse Unique ID: 171341
  14. Miss Louisa Sophia Pieterse Unique ID: 171339
  15. Mr Nicholas Theodorus Pieterse Unique ID: 171346
  16. Miss Peternella Hendricka Pieterse Unique ID: 171344
  17. Master Rudolph Theunis Pieterse Unique ID: 171343
  18. Mrs Susana Johanna Pieterse Unique ID: 171338
  19. Miss Susana Johanna Pieterse Unique ID: 171342
  20. Mr Cornelis Peterus M Truter (Cornelius Petrus M [DBC 108]) Unique ID: 165658
  21. Master Joas Credian Truter (Joachim G) Unique ID: 20171
  22. Master T J Truter Unique ID: 165660

Acknowledgments: The project was funded by the Wellcome Trust, which is not responsible for the contents of the database. The help of the following research assistants is gratefully acknowledged: Ryna Boshoff, Murray Gorman, Janie Grobler, Marelize Grobler, Luke Humby, Clare O’Reilly Jacomina Roose, Elsa Strydom, Mary van Blerk. Thanks also go to Peter Dennis for the design of the original database and to Dr Iain Smith, co-grantholder.