BCCDBritish Concentration Camps
of the South African War

Farm Details
Name:Altona / Ectona
Persons on Farm
    - Click the Name for full details

  1. Miss Gertruida Anna Magdalena du Toit Unique ID: 32279
  2. Miss Charlotte Sophia Massyn (Charlotte) Unique ID: 48610
  3. Miss Elizabeth Catrina Massyn (Elizabeth C; Eliz Catrina) Unique ID: 48607
  4. Miss Florence Freda Massyn (Florence) Unique ID: 48611
  5. Mr Frans Pieter Massyn (Franz P) Unique ID: 56413
  6. Mr Jan Albert Reid Massyn Unique ID: 106549
  7. Master Pieter Massyn (Peter) Unique ID: 48609
  8. Mrs Willemina Maria Massyn (Willemina M) Unique ID: 48606
  9. Miss Willemina Maria Massyn (Willemina M) Unique ID: 48608
  10. Mr Willim Adrian Massyn Unique ID: 106557
  11. Miss Adelaide F Spiller (Adelaide) Unique ID: 56243
  12. Master Albert M Spiller (Albert) Unique ID: 56245
  13. Mr Charles J Spiller (Chas J; Charles) Unique ID: 56241
  14. Master Charles Jas Spiller (Chas Jas; Charles J; Charles) Unique ID: 56244
  15. Mrs Ester Sophia Spiller (Hester S; Hester) Unique ID: 56242
  16. Master Jan David van der Merwe Unique ID: 104826
  17. Ms Magreta van der Merwe (M L) Unique ID: 104825
  18. Mrs Martha Sophia van der Merwe Unique ID: 104824
  19. Mr Willem Carel van der Merwe (W C) Unique ID: 104823

Acknowledgments: The project was funded by the Wellcome Trust, which is not responsible for the contents of the database. The help of the following research assistants is gratefully acknowledged: Ryna Boshoff, Murray Gorman, Janie Grobler, Marelize Grobler, Luke Humby, Clare O’Reilly Jacomina Roose, Elsa Strydom, Mary van Blerk. Thanks also go to Peter Dennis for the design of the original database and to Dr Iain Smith, co-grantholder.