BCCDBritish Concentration Camps
of the South African War

Farm Details

Owner: Ben Johnson; burnt for laying waste country used as base by enemy [Source: Cd 524, p.6]

Persons on Farm
    - Click the Name for full details

  1. Master Johan Christian Coetzer Unique ID: 24082
  2. Mr Philippus Jeremias Coetzer Unique ID: 24081
  3. Miss Catherina Elizabeth du Toit Unique ID: 32329
  4. Master Johannes Frederik du Toit Unique ID: 32336
  5. Master Louis Petrus Jacobus du Toit Unique ID: 32332
  6. Miss Isabella Margarita Dorotea Fourie Unique ID: 25121
  7. Master Johannes Petrus Fourie Unique ID: 25122
  8. Mr Johannes Christoffel Hattingh Unique ID: 25796
  9. Mr Philip Rudolf Hattingh Unique ID: 25795
  10. Miss Cornelia Aletta Rabie Unique ID: 30310
  11. Master Barend Scott Unique ID: 101294
  12. Miss Catherina Scott Unique ID: 101290
  13. Miss Hester Scott Unique ID: 101292
  14. Master Johannes Scott Unique ID: 101295
  15. Mrs Sesarals Maria Scott Unique ID: 101289
  16. Miss Sus Scott Unique ID: 101293
  17. Ms Susara Maria Scott (Susannah Maria) Unique ID: 31151
  18. Master Willem Scott Unique ID: 101291
  19. Master Edward Johannes van Rensburg Unique ID: 30481
  20. Miss Johanna Dorothea Veldtsman Unique ID: 32476
  21. Miss Apolina Carlina Wiegand (Wiegnand, Appellina Carolina) Unique ID: 33721
  22. Mr Heinrich Johannes Wiegand (Wiegnand, Hendrik Johannes) Unique ID: 33723
  23. Ms Maria Susanna Wiegand Unique ID: 33719
  24. Miss Martha Jacoba Aletta Wiegand (Wiegard) Unique ID: 33720
  25. Miss Martha Susanna Wiegand (Wiegnand) Unique ID: 33722
  26. Ms Martha Susanna Wiegand (Wiegnand) Unique ID: 33724

Acknowledgments: The project was funded by the Wellcome Trust, which is not responsible for the contents of the database. The help of the following research assistants is gratefully acknowledged: Ryna Boshoff, Murray Gorman, Janie Grobler, Marelize Grobler, Luke Humby, Clare O’Reilly Jacomina Roose, Elsa Strydom, Mary van Blerk. Thanks also go to Peter Dennis for the design of the original database and to Dr Iain Smith, co-grantholder.