Select by subject area
Search by keyword(s):
Licence Conditions
Academic OneFile
Provides extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Premier - via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
AccessMedicine
AccessMedicineTM from McGraw-Hill provides access to more than 60 medical titles, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users.
AccessPhysiotherapy
AccessPhysiotherapy™ from McGraw-Hill is a resource for physical therapy students and lecturers. It provides access to content from leading McGraw-Hill texts, interactive imaging content, exclusive multimedia, and flexible curricular tools.
Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users.
AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online
AccessScience provides online access to the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
Access limited to 2 simultaneous users.
ACM Digital Library, including ACM Guide
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985 are available in the library together with works published by affiliated organizations.
As of June 1, 2001, the Library contains: over 69,000 full-text articles from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings; Tables of Contents with over 23,000 citations from articles published in journals and magazines from 1954 forward; Tables of contents with more than 48,000 citations from articles published in over 990 volumes of conference proceedings since 1985.
ACS (American Chemical Society) style guide
Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (a sub-set of Technology Research Database)
Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics.
Aerospace Database (a sub-set of Technology Research Database)
Applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, space sciences, chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, electronics and military - journal articles
Africa Bibliography
The Africa Bibliography is an authoritative guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute.
Africa Development Indicators
ADI is the premier data source on the African economy. It contains 1400+ indicators & time series from 1965 for 53 countries. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, & environmental indicators. It brings an essay on a key topic--the long term growth challenges of the continent.
Africa Knowledge Project
AKP promotes Critical African Studies. It disseminates Africa-Centered, Evidence-Based Knowledge on Africa and Global African Diaspora.
Africa Portal: a project of the Africa Initiative
"The Africa Portal is an online knowledge resource for policy-related issues on Africa. An undertaking by the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) and the South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA), the Africa Portal offers open access to a suite of features including an online library collection; a resource for opinion and analysis; an experts directory; an international events calendar; and a mobile technology component — all aimed to equip users with research and information on Africa’s current policy issues."
Africa South of the Sahara
Access is limited to 1 person at a time.
Africa-Wide Information- via EBSCOhost
Africa-Wide Information combines databases (African Studies, South African Studies, and African Healthline) to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.
African American Music Reference (part of the Music Online collection from Alexander Street Press)
African Christianity Bibliography
The African Christianity Project CD-ROM was published in December 1998. It contains an author listing of over 10,000 records from the African Christianity Bibliography together with the full text of more than 200 documents selected from archive and unpublished material held in the link institutions. This CD is available from a stand-alone workstation in the African Studies Library.
African e-Journals Project
"To expand free, online access to journals published in Africa, the African e-Journals Project has digitized full text of articles of eleven social science and humanities journals and made them available on this web site."
African Index Medicus
African Index Medicus, produced collaboratively by WHO and The Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA), covers information published both in and related to Africa within medicine and the allied health sciences.
African Journal Archive
The African Journal Archive is a retrospective digitisation project of full-text journal articles published in Africa, in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
African Journals
The African Journal service (previously SA ePublications) has been available online to clients with great success since 2001. This service is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform which focuses on information originating from or pertaining to Africa.
African Mining Legislation Atlas (AMLA)
African Music Database (part of Africa Knowledge Project)
African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922 (World Newspaper Archive)
More than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
African Newspapers, Series 2, 1835 - 1925 (World Newspaper Archive)
African Writers Series
The African Writers Series forms part of Literature Online and contains work by all the major African authors of the second half of the 20th century published by Heinemann. Over 350 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama, myths, memoirs and reportage.
Agricola
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
AJOL - African Journals Online
The following website offers online access to the tables of contents and abstracts of articles from up to 70 journals in agricultural sciences, science and technology, health and social sciences, published in Africa.
AllAfrica.com
AllAfrica.com is among the Internet's largest content sites posting over 800 stories daily in English and French and offering a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as over 900,000 articles in a searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). Strategic alliances with media and information technology companies, such as Comtex News Network, Radio France Internationale, and the BBC, extend AllAfrica's global reach. Content agreements with over 100 African news organizations generate steady revenues for the content partners and give them, in turn, access to the prize-winning reporting of the AllAfrica team.
Aluminium industry abstracts (via Materials Research Database)
Aluminium Industry Abstracts (AIA), formerly World Aluminum Abstracts (WAA), provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments.
American Medical Association Journals
American Song (part of the Music Online collection from Alexander Street Press)
AMESA : Directory of Scholars of Africa, The Middle East, and South Asia
This free online international directory will contain records of individuals who have identified themselves as being involved in any aspect of scholarship in the fields of African Studies, Middle Eastern Studies or South Asian Studies.
Annee philologique (via Brepolis)
Annual Reviews
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (a sub-set of Technology Research Database)
1981-Current
Anthropological Index Online
AnthroSource
AnthroSource, developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), serves the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. It includes a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003 and current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications.
Architectural Publications Index
Architectural Publications Index (API) is part of the Royal British Architectural Library's Online Catalogue and can be freely searched on the web. This resource indexes over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals held in the RIBA Library.
ArchiveGrid
Provides access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide.
ArchUP
Articles indexed by the Department of Architecture at the University of Pretoria.
Art & Architecture Complete via EBSCOhost
Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984 - via EBSCOhost
One simultaneous user.
ArticleFirst - via OCLC FirstSearch
Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of approximately 12,600 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Provides holdings information for South African libraries for most items.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) on Web of Science
ARTstor
ARTstor provides access to more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
"The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering."
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials - via EBSCOhost
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 575,000 article citations from more than 1,679 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 239,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, and more than 530,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 294,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - via EBSCOhost